BioE sweeps top three at AAPM

BioE PhD student Daniel Hensley of Professor Steven Conolly’s lab took first prize at the 2017 American Association of Physicists in Medicine Young Investigators Symposium. Jessie Lee, student of Professors Chris Diederich and John Kurhanewicz, took second place, and Zhi Wei Tay of Conolly Lab took third.

Su named NSF GROW Fellow

PhD student Elaine Su has received an NSF Graduate Research Opportunities Worldwide Fellowship, which will enable her to conduct research in Ireland. 

Vlassakis named 2017 SLAS fellow

Congratulations to Julea Vlassakis, the 2017 recipient of the Society for Laboratory Automation and Screening Graduate Education Fellowship Grant.

Carey awarded Kang Family Graduate Fellowship

PhD student Thomas Carey has been granted a Kang Family Graduate Fellowship for Biotechnology for 2017-18.

Olivia Scheideler named P.E.O Scholar

PhD student Olivia Scheideler has been awarded a prestigious Scholar award from the P.E.O. International philanthropic organization.

Congratulations new NSF Fellows!

Prestigious National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowships have been awarded to nine continuing and two incoming Berkeley-UCSF graduate students!

Ke Xu new 2016 Packard Fellow

UC Berkeley professor of chemistry Ke Xu has received one of 18 prestigious 2016 fellowships from The David and Lucile Packard Foundation. Xu develops new tools to interrogate biological, chemical, and materials systems at the nanoscale with extraordinary resolution and sensitivity.

Ramasubramanian wins at BioX-ADATE Tissue Engineering Symposium

PhD student Anusuya Ramasubramanian’s team presented a winning oral talk and poster at the BioX-ADATE Tissue Engineering Symposium at Stanford this September. Congratulations!

2017 Siebel Scholars named

Matthew Bakalar, Benjamin Epstein, Elena Kassianidou, Sylvia Natividad-Diaz, and Kevin Yamauchi have been named the 2017 UC Berkeley Siebel Scholars in Bioengineering by the Siebel Foundation.

Four Bioengineers receive UCSF Merit Fellowships

Congratulations to four of our bioengineering students who have been awarded UCSF merit fellowships for 2016-17. Jeremy Bancroft Brown and Jean Kim have received the Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) Scholarship, a competitive scholarship that rewards excellence in research. Jinny Sun has received a Genentech Fellowship, a competitive predoctoral fellowship to support eligible students in their biomedical research, […]