Ten faculty named Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigators

Ten graduate program faculty have been named to the inaugural class of Investigators in the Chan Zuckerberg Biohub. Congratulations to UCSF faculty Adam Abate, Hana El-Samad, Zev Gartner, Bo Huang, and Tanja Kortemme, and Berkeley faculty Dan Fletcher, Amy Herr, Michel Maharbiz, Aaron Streets, and Ke Xu!

Altemose represents Berkeley in Regeneron Prize

PhD student Nicholas Altemose has been selected as one of only two Berkeley graduate students to represent the campus in competition for the 2017 Regeneron Prize for Creative Innovation.  The Prize is a national competition honoring excellence in Biomedical Science conducted by graduate students and postdoctoral fellows.

Downing in 2017 30 Under 30

Congratulations 2013 PhD Tim Downing, now a professor at UC Irvine, named to the 2017 Forbes 30 Under 30 for his work examining how extracellular signals can influence the final fate of cells.

BioE startup Lygos raises $13 million

Lygos Biotech, founded by PhD alumni Jeffrey Dietrich and Eric Steen, has raised $13 million in Series A funding to continue their work producing high-value specialty chemicals through synthetic biology. Their process uses domestic sugars instead of petroleum for chemical production, and has already resulted in the world’s first bio-based production of malonic acid.

Desai named to new endowed chair

PhD alumna and chair of the UCSF Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, Tejal Desai, will hold the Ernest L. Prien Endowed Professorship in Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences.

BioE startup Diassess featured in Wired

John Waldeisen, CEO and Co-founder of Diassess, talks with Wired about the diagnostic tech landscape post-Theranos.

Carmena receives federal BRAIN initiative grant

Professor Jose Carmena will receive one of the third round of grants to support the goals of the Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies (BRAIN) Initiative announced three years ago by President Barack Obama. Carmena will receive $225,000 from the National Eye Institute to test newly developed wireless sensors, dubbed neural dust, to record activity in the central nervous system.

Ke Xu new 2016 Packard Fellow

UC Berkeley professor of chemistry Ke Xu has received one of 18 prestigious 2016 fellowships from The David and Lucile Packard Foundation. Xu develops new tools to interrogate biological, chemical, and materials systems at the nanoscale with extraordinary resolution and sensitivity.

Orsborn named 2016 L’Oréal USA For Women in Science Fellow

BioE alumna Dr. Amy Orsborn was named a 2016 L’Oréal USA For Women in Science Fellow, a program that awards research grants to five women postdoctoral scientists annually for their contributions in STEM fields and commitment to serving as role models for younger generations. Orsborn is now a postdoctoral researcher at New York University, studying improved treatments for people with motor disabilities caused by limb loss, stroke or spinal injury.

Ramasubramanian wins at BioX-ADATE Tissue Engineering Symposium

PhD student Anusuya Ramasubramanian’s team presented a winning oral talk and poster at the BioX-ADATE Tissue Engineering Symposium at Stanford this September. Congratulations!