Congratulations new alumni faculty members

Congratulations to THREE PhD alumni, Joe Leach, MD (2009), Yan Li (2008), and Joseph Vu (2011), all new faculty of the UCSF Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging in 2019.

With AI and other tech, Anat Caspi focuses on helping people with disabilities

Great article in the Seattle Times on PhD alumna Anat Caspi, director of the University of Washington’s Taskar Center for Accessible Technology.

Grad student chairs Gordon Research Seminar

Bioengineering PhD student Louise Hansen, of Amy Herr’s lab, has been named co-chair of the 2021 Gordon Research Seminar on The Physics & Chemistry of Microfluidics.  Chairing a prestigious Gordon Research Seminar is a major honor for a graduate student, and Louise is the third Berkeley student to do so. She follows Julea Vlassakis, who chaired in 2017, and Marc Chooljian in 2019.
Congratulations Louise!

Tejal Desai named IAMBE Fellow

UCSF Professor and program alumna Tejal Desai has been named a 2019 Fellow of the International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering (IAMBE). Congratulations!

Alumna develops protein cancer atlas to accelerate personalized medicine for leukemia patients

Alumna Amina Qutub, now Associate Professor at the University of Texas, created an online atlas to identify and classify protein signatures present at acute myelogenous leukemia diagnosis.

Muncie presents at UCSF Page Symposium

2016 UCSF Discovery Fellow Jon Muncie, of Professor Valerie Weaver’s lab, was selected to present at the 2019 Michael Page, PhD Research Symposium. The symposium showcases the research of basic science PhD students, and celebrates six years of igniting scientific curiosity through the Discovery Fellows Program.

How Lygos CEO Eric Steen is tackling the petrochemical industry

PhD alumnus Eric Steen is interviewed on BioE startup Lygos’ environmentally friendly process for creating malonic acid, a petrochemical-intensive substance used in everything from food flavorings to auto coatings.

Professor Sarah Nelson, 1954-2019

It is with great sadness that we announce that Professor Sarah J. Nelson, a long-time leader of the Bioengineering Graduate Program, has passed away after a struggle with cancer. In addition to being an internationally recognized researcher in metabolic imaging, Sarah was instrumental in growing the joint graduate program and establishing the Department of Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences at UC San Francisco. A tireless educator, she mentored over 90 students and postdoctoral fellows and lent advice and support to countless others. She will be missed.

Tejal Desai named President-Elect, AIMBE

Tejal Desai, program alumna and Chair of the Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences at UCSF, was announced as president-elect at the March 24, 2019 annual meeting. “Beyond recognizing excellence, AIMBE is unique in its commitment to advancing public understanding, showcasing the impact of biologic and medical engineering on society, and serving as a thought leader in public policy,” Desai said. “I look forward to serving as the organization’s future president.”

Prof Tanja Kortemme named AIMBE Fellow

Graduate program member and UCSF Professor Tanja Kortemme has been named a 2019 Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, for “outstanding contributions in computational protein design including energy functions, sampling algorithms, and molecules to rewire cellular control circuits.” Fellows fulfill AIMBE’s mission of providing leadership and advocacy in medical and biological engineering for the advancement of society.